Originally Posted Here: http://colorinschool.livejournal.com/1686.html

  • Mar. 10th, 2008 at 3:15 PM
Fountain Pen

I think that the irony of my class’s discussion of Rodriguez’s book is that the majority of the class is putting him in a box because his writing does not fall into the “accepted” essay format. One of the major themes and arguments in the book is about the “puritan” idea of wanting to deny the theatrical nature of life for the “authentic” even as there is a seeking for a new self, a seeking of re-invention. I think I will have to come back later and use a few quotes as well as a bit more about how I feel personally about the book as I obviously am in the “minority” here. For a bit more than this little bit, I’ll leave you with my favorite quote.

There is no shelf for bitterness. No shelf for redemption. […] There is no shelf for irony.

