Originally Posted Here: http://colorinschool.livejournal.com/2300.html and Here: http://colorinschool.livejournal.com/2536.html

Editor’s Note: I’m modifying this a bit because the original post used a Livejournal poll. I’m just going to omit the poll section and list the questions and options.

  • Apr. 4th, 2008 at 11:00 PM
Fountain Pen

1. “Princes, you know, stand upon stages so that their actions are viewed and beheld of all men; and I am sure my doings will come to the scanning of many fine wits, not only within the realm, but in foreign countries. And We must look to persons as well abroad as at home. But this be you assured of: I will be most careful to consider and to do that which shall be best for the safety of my people and most for the good of the realm.”

2. Anne liceat invites in servitutem dare?

1. Who said the above quotation?
     a. Barack Obama
     b. Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.
     c. Queen Elizabeth I
     d. King James
     e. Geraldine Ferraro
2. Do you have any idea what this question means in English? Bonus points if you know what it is from.
Bonus Question: Do you know what April 4 is the anniversary of?
There’s no pass or fail on this quiz, simply me being curious. 😛 I’ll give the answers in a future post!
  • Apr. 12th, 2008 at 11:11 PM
Writing

I have to say that I am a bit disappointed that no one played in my quiz game! However, as promised, here are the answers.

The quote, “Princes, you know, stand upon stages so that their actions are viewed and beheld of all men; and I am sure my doings will come to the scanning of many fine wits, not only within the realm, but in foreign countries. And We must look to persons as well abroad as at home. But this be you assured of: I will be most careful to consider and to do that which shall be best for the safety of my people and most for the good of the realm.” was said by Elizabeth I in one of her speeches. This particular one, number 17, was her first reply to Parliamentary petitions urging the execution of Queen Mary in 1586.

I think this is a very vivid example of what an astute politician Elizabeth was as well as a very good example of how well she knew how to use words to her advantage. The other thought that made it very striking for me was that in an age well before the television or the Internet, she already knew that foreign eyes were watching her and what she did. I think it is something that politicians today could well take note of, for while it might seem obvious that all eyes are on them, sometimes it seems like they do not much care. Elizabeth was careful in both speech and action because she learned at an early age how to play the “politics game” at court. There are a lot of things that she said that politicians today and all leaders today, whether they are in politics or not, could certainly learn from.

The question Anne liceat invites in servitutem dare? mean, roughly, “Is it moral to enslave others against their will?” I heard this quote at the 4th Annual Student Leadership Training for Peace that was held at KSU on 4 April 2008. This was a very thought provoking conference and one that very much could have its own entry. The question above was the Latin essay question at Cambridge University in 1787. The man who won the essay contest that year was Thomas Clarkson who would become one of the first advocates for ending the slave trade in Britain. (One of the main topics of the conference was modern slavery and the slave trafficking still going on both here in our own country and around the world.)

April 4th is the anniversary of Dr. Martin Luther King Jr’s assassination.

