Originally Posted Here: http://colorinschool.livejournal.com/2701.html

  • Apr. 21st, 2008 at 3:29 AM
Fountain Pen

The end of the semester is upon us and I cannot believe how insanely busy it has been. I don’t know why I’m all -that- surprised since the end of the semester is always like this; however, I think, as is the case with many things, time had eased the memory a bit! I’ve had major project after major project due, and of course, there’ve been twelve million things going on at home that require attention as well (like refrigerator shopping!).

While all of the projects have been learning experiences in their own way, I think some of the most important things I’ve learned have been on a more personal level. For example, I’ve realized that this blog has been far more stifling than I expected because I limited myself a bit too much in topic. I think after the semester, I will open it up a bit more and since I decided that, I was able to make directional changes with the web content project that I had due for the same class my blog is for. I think it made for dynamic changes and left me a fair bit of flexibility to decide whether or not I want to go both the web site and the blog route or just stick to blogging.

My 19th Century British Literature class is what you call a hybrid class, meaning that we have one day in class and one day we have an assignment due online. At the beginning of the semester, I thought this would be a great setup. It turns out, I was wrong! The fully online class worked out really well for me as the time frames to turn things in was much more flexible. The hybrid class was reading intensive and while I do not think I would want to try to read Little Dorrit in a week or two, breaking it up over the entire semester did not work out well for me either. I missed several journal entries and had trouble keeping up with the book itself.

I’ve yet to decide what it actually was about the hybrid class that made it seemingly impossible to manage, but it was a lot more difficult than I expected and much more difficult than the fully online class was in terms of getting the work done on time. I think I may avoid hybrid classes in the future; at the least, I will avoid hybrid classes set on such a rigid schedule.
While I’ve struggled all semester with trying to sort out a full time course load, as we near the end, I think it was a wise decision to make. I’ve had such a varied mix of classes and topics this semester and yet I’ve constantly been able to make connections that run through all of them and that has been a fascinating and occasionally eye opening experience. We still have a couple of weeks left, and I am likely to be running about like a chicken with my head cut off the whole time; however, as we get to the end, I think I’ll survive it and that’s pretty important. 🙂

