Originally Posted Here:

  • Apr. 23rd, 2008 at 12:09 AM
Writing

I had meant to post this sooner and forgot! However, if you’re in the Kennesaw area tomorrow and are looking for something to do, the English Department at KSU are sponsoring the second annual Shakespeare’s Birthday Celebration. From 10am-3pm tomorrow, people will be reading all of Shakespeare’s sonnets. There also will be cake around noon! (And who doesn’t love cake?) I will be there pretty much all day. I have to get there around 9 (o_O!!!) because I am reading sonnet 19 which falls into the early set. I also will be in costume because really, how can I possibly turn down the opportunity to parade around campus in costume? I think it’s going to be a lot of fun; at least I hope so!

And for the curious:

Devouring Time, blunt thou the lion’s paws,
And make the earth devour her own sweet brood;
Pluck the keen teeth from the fierce tiger’s jaws,
And burn the long-liv’d phoenix, in her blood;
Make glad and sorry seasons as though flee’st,
And do whate’er thou wilt, swift-footed Time,
To the wide world and all her fading sweets;
But I forbid thee one most heinous crime:
O’ carve not with thy hours my love’s fair brow,
Nor draw no lines there with thine antique pen;
Him in thy course untainted do allow
For beauty’s pattern to succeeding men.
Yet, do thy worst old Time; despite thy wrong,
My love shall in my verse ever live young.

Original Comments:
(Anonymous)

Apr. 25th, 2008 06:59 pm (UTC)
I saw that sign the other day “Happy Birthday Will!” I think it said.. Do you know how old he would have been?
I saw the event in passing – Now I wish I had time to stop! I would have been interested in hearing your sonnet.. and other readings.. as well as everyone in costume!!

Also, I wanted to say it looks like you are keeping up very well with your blog! Alongside your classes and your daughter, it’s nice to see you’ve still set time aside to keep us updated =]

Link | Reply | Thread

colorinschool

Apr. 28th, 2008 07:43 am (UTC)
You should have stopped by! It was tons of fun!

And this year was Shakespeare’s 444th birthday! Wow!

Thank you so much! I feel like I’ve totally been a slacker on it so it’s nice to hear someone thinks differently! Thanks for reading!

 

