If I actually knew the answer to that, I’d likely be a very rich woman. Life is full of the unexpected; if most of my life had not taught me that, the last seven months most assuredly would have. So many things have ended up going so far differently from what I expected, that I can’t always tell you what’s coming next. So many plans from this summer were changed around, that I even put a ban of making plans that were more than three days in advance. In some ways, this has helped my sanity seeing as how the month of June was one change in plans after another. In others, it has made a few other things a bit more tricky. On the whole, though, it seems like we’ve all muddled through somehow.

At some point, I’ll likely sit down and write about some of the things that have happened since January if for no other reason than to let people in. Apparently, I’ve done a far better job of keeping things quiet than I ever realized. *wry grin* It seems some habits die really slow deaths.

I suppose I should start with some of the basics like who I am and all that jazz…except answering that question seems to take longer and longer every day. The basic stats are thus: I am an almost-29 year old woman who is the very proud (and occasionally frazzled) mother of an amazing 8 year old daughter who I tend to refer to as “K” or “Miss Ma’am.” I am, at this moment, sitting in the living room of my future home which is located in South Bend, Indiana. It is the home of my best friend Rin and her husband Tadhg. I say “future home” because at the moment, K and I are in the process of relocating, a process that likely will not be complete until sometime in August.

For the past few weeks, we have also had Rin’s little brother (“F” or “Mr. Monkey”) here with us which has been both fun and occasionally brain-frazzling. Originally, he was going to be here for a week after Rin and I got some things organized here at the house. In one of those crazy turn-abouts back in June, we had to rearrange those plans because Rin’s mom (Chris) got sick and no one was entirely sure what was going on with her. She is doing better; however, recovery took a bit.

Having both munchkins has definitely been an experience. K and I have spent the last three summers with Rin and Tadhg, so we kind of have different little routines down. Adding F to the mix made for a few learning curves. Toss in the fact that I’ve spent most of the time we’ve been up here sick and you get a whole lot of fun…or something. Nah, we’ve actually had quite a blast. It was nice to be able to let F see where Rin and Tadhg live and where K is moving (particularly since K and I have been living with F since January). It was neat to take him to the different places that Miss Ma’am has talked about and we all had a good time at the 4-H Fair last week.

Unfortunately, between having both munchkins, my being sick, and trying to sort Rin’s work schedule, we’ve not gotten a whole lot done which has been frustrating for the grown-ups. On the flip side, we’re going to have a couple of weeks to get more things done…at least in theory. 😀

Tomorrow, I am braving the trip back to Georgia with K and F to make sure that they are both there for F’s birthday party on Saturday. (His actual birthday is Sunday.) After that, at least once I finish arranging plans with my Mom, K is going to spend a couple of weeks with her Gamma and Poppa and other family members. I am going to head back up here and hopefully work on some things. At the end of the month, when Rin finishes the summer school session she is working, we are both going to drive down to Georgia again and theoretically get some things done down there.

Also, theoretically at least, she and I are going to work at Star Wars Celebration in Orlando. Since our room is already paid for (thanks to a friend of hers) and since we actually get a small stipend for room and travel which will largely pay for gas and some of our food, not to mention the potential to earn a recommendation that says, “Hey you did x kinds of things for Lucasfilm,” it actually is looking like a feasible convention to go to. The other large convention of the year though? Yeah, that one is pretty much looking like a no-go. We sat down and did some of the math and since we nearly spend (with room and food and what have you) around $1800, it is looking as though Dragon*Con may be out this year. We’ve not made a final decision; however, the odds of us being able to go have greatly been reduced thanks to the bureaucratic foul ups that we’ve been dealing with in Georgia (i.e. mine & K’s insurance situation). *shrug* We’ll go again and we both know it. We’ll miss people and miss the events; however, we really can’t see how we can justify the expense with so many other things going on at the same time.

I’d love to think that this post was moving in a somehow linear fashion, but I know myself well enough to realize that it is hopping and skipping all over the place. Some of that is because I am tired and some of it is because I am keeping up with Tadhg’s conversation, too. 🙂 I think I had started out with a goal of some kind of list that said, “I will probably write about these types of things,” and have instead simply been downloading things from my over-tired brain that needs to go to bed but isn’t quite ready to do so.

So, what might I write about?

  • Real life (because it kind of gets in the way of everything else)
  • Game things (because FB also kind of gets in the way of everything else)
  • Unsent letters (because I write them A LOT, especially when I’m driving and it’s hard not to share some of them)

Types of things you can expect:

  • Profanity: I have a B.A. in English and “fuck” is still my favorite word in the English language. Anyone trying to tell me that swear words are only used by people who don’t have the vocabulary to say anything else will be mocked for their blatant ignorance. Like everything, I believe that there is a time and a place for swearing and gods know that in my journal/blog/place where I write shit, I can use it like I wish. You have been warned.
  • Child stories: My kid is so awesome that I don’t always have words to describe her. She continually amazes me, baffles me, frustrates me, and makes me a very proud Momma and I like to talk about her. A lot. I post the good and the bad and everything in between. My kid says awesome things and she’s not quite ready to blog herself so I feel it my duty to write some of these things down for her. Also? Blackmail.
  • Emoticons: I try not to; however, I find that every now and then I really cannot help myself. Some times you just need a 😛 or a 😀 or a ^_^ to get your point across. 😀
  • Sick talk: I have an uncategorized autoimmune disorder. My body regularly does not like me. Much like real life, it tends to crop up in conversation. Seeing as how the last few months have also seen a rise in symptoms (thank for making me sick of the sun, dear body, I do so appreciate it), I am likely going to be talking about this…a lot. I also would like to talk about important things like how to be sick and have a life at the same time.
  • SCA (Society for Creative Anachronism): I know almost nothing about it; however, I aim to learn about it. Rin has been involved in the group up here, and she is looking forward to getting K and I involved as well. We’ve been to a couple of the workshop nights and have had fun. Even more exciting than my own involvement is perhaps K’s excitement at learning how to be a fighter. She thinks it’s pretty damned cool and is really looking forward to it. I think that’s fucking awesome! She’s also been dressing her teeny beanie baby kittens up with Barbie clothes to try to make them be in the SCA. Yes, it really is as adorable as it sounds.
  • Talk of Snow: I am a Southern Girl moving to the Great White North. Trust me, if I manage to keep this up, you’re going to hear about it. A lot.
  • Random Fiction: I was invited over to WordPress with a reason and I can already see creating tales from some of Solle’s other Fairy Tale writings. (I’m pretty sure I hear Hansel’s reply somewhere in my head.) I also occasionally write other fiction bits just for the hell of it.
  • Random Bullshit: I do believe most people would call this “everything else;” however, I am -me- and I have to be unique, so everything else is “that random bullshit I didn’t cover in specific bullet points.”

I like to talk…a lot. Sometimes I actually manage to translate that out into writing. It’s a habit I am trying desperately to return to and I am hoping that gentle (and not so gentle) nudges in this direction will help. We shall see. What happens from here? Heck if I know. Well, not true, I do know. I have to go to bed soon so that I can be prepared to deal with all that tomorrow is likely to bring. After all, there are kids’ things to pack, my things to pack, a car to load…and probably a thousand things to do that I’ve not yet considered. I suspect that the drive will likely prompt at least some writing ideas, but who knows…I could just end up banging my head into the steering wheel. 😀

