Today was a fair bit more laid back than yesterday. I spent a good bit of the day on the couch reading. I’ve been rereading both the Anita Blake series and the Merry Gentry series by Laurell K. Hamilton. I’d already read most of them, but I also have enjoyed catching up on the newer books in both. I finished Divine Misdemeanors today and was quite pleased. I enjoyed the pacing of the story and quite thoroughly enjoyed some of the more mundane moments.

Yesterday, I read a paragraph to K and Rin and we used it as a teaching moment. The scene was in the kitchen with Amatheon and Adair kind of freaking out while helping with dinner. Hamilton described the scene in an utterly adorable fashion, but didn’t spell out the details. Rin and I asked K questions and she was able to come up with what was going on from different descriptions. We pointed out to her that there are always multiple ways to describe something and that it is often more compelling to describe something without blatantly spelling it out. I love teachable moments like that and I love watching K as she figures things out.

After I finished the book, I spent some time reorganizing books on my Kindle. I’m still not 100% happy with how it’s arranged, but it’s a step better than it was. I’m a bit OCD about organizing sometimes. Once I got some of that done, I picked a book at random to start. I can’t remember the title off the top of my head but it’s been cute so far.

About the time dinner was ready, I remembered I needed to go make a payment at Kohl’s. I grumbled a bit but got dressed and headed out. It was a nice night for driving, so that helped assuage my crankies a bit. When I got to the store, I noticed they had Skippyjon Jones books in their Kohl’s Cates for Kids display. I grabbed two of the books, one as a replacement for one of K’s that was messed up and a new one I actually hadn’t known about. At $5 per hardcover, it was a great deal. I also was won over by cuteness in the form of Skippyjon plushies (also $5). I got one for each of the kids. They, of course, were thrilled.

Other than that, I’ve been pretty boring today. Tomorrow will likely be filled with a flurry of getting ready to go homeness. We’ll probably be heading out on the 4th, but we’re not 100% sure yet. Ultimately, we just have to be back by Friday to get K ready for her Windy City Scavenger Hunt trip (which by the way, I got the trip guides for today and it looks awesome).

