Tonight was the monthly business meeting for Brothers of the Wind. It was good to see folks since we’ve missed the last couple. We also learned about a newsletter that puts together tons of living history events and workshop info called Smoke and Fire that sounds both interesting and necessary for event scheduling. It’s also inexpensive for a yearly subscription which is definitely nice.

After the meeting, a lot of folks headed to the South Bend Chocolate Cafe for dinner. While some of their prices might seem a bit daunting at first, it’s actually pretty reasonable, particularly considering portion sizes. Since we’d already had some dinner before the meeting, Rin and I got the soup and half salad combo (Southwestern Corn Chowder for her, cafe salad for me). The girl handed me the salad and I was like, “o_O That’s the HALF salad?!” It was pretty large and incredibly tasty. Rin also bought me some of the milk chocolate turtles that I love. I love chocolate turtles in general, but the South Bend Chocolate Company has the best ones I’ve ever had. We also tried the sea turtle which has salted caramel and sea salt on top. It wasn’t bad; however, it wasn’t something I’d want often. I prefer to combine my sweet and salty combos without it being the exact same thing.

On the way home, we were talking about the fact that we were both pleased that we had been genuinely missed by folks. We had missed them, too, which is largely the reason we dragged our still recovering selves out in the first place. It was just nice given recent issues with friends proving to be just the opposite and other not so positive situations.

******

I’ve been reading a lot of different things today. That’s what happens when I try to play catch-up on Facebook. Right now, I have more than ten tabs open and I’m tired which means that a lot of this stuff isn’t going to get read tonight. I do, however, want to share a couple because I think they are interesting:

My friend Dr. Jeff writes a lot of really awesome stuff over at his blog, the Doc Blog (plus about five other places). This piece in particular resonated with me because I catch myself doing this more than a little, so I’m going to try to keep this trick in mind in the future. A One Minute Method to Help Move Past Old Hurts

Katie Cooke (who makes some adorably awesome works of art and comics and is just an all around awesome person) and Andy Price are making a new comic about My Little Pony:Friendship is Magic and I think this is an awesome idea! It looks like it will be a lot of fun and I know that our family will totally be into buying it.

And finally, at least for tonight, a link to the culmination of drama that Matthew Inman over at The Oatmeal was having to deal with is so amazingly epic that you really should just see it to believe it. Philanthropy > Douchebaggery

 

