I decided that I was not going to be purling’s bitch and set about mastering it once and for all. After doing about ten rows of just stockinette, Rin suggested making K a doll scarf sampler and then she gleefully ripped out my stockinette rows. (Okay, in fairness I let her take them out because I’m not good at doing it myself and they were practice rows.

After three attempts with varying levels of yanking out, this is the pattern I ended up making. At first, I was just going from stitch type to stitch type but seed stitch is a right bitch to learn and it was causing issues and I realized it would be easier to rip back to a purl or knit row than say in the midst of stockinette. It isn’t the prettiest doll scarf in the world, but it is actually cute and Miss Ma’am will be over the moon.

Now I probably need to take my tired ass to bed. Because it’s 5am. Curse you knitting! *shakes fist* or perhaps I should just curse my own stubbornness for not giving up sooner. Hrm. Who knows? (EDIT: Annoyingly, this didn’t post from the iPad last night so I’ll post it now. Stupid iPad shenanigans!)

Cast on 8 stitches.
Knit
K
K
K
K
K
K
K
Stockinette Knit
S P
S K
S P
S K
S P
S K
S P
Purl
P
P
P
P
P
P
P
Seed stitch K1 P1
P1 K1
K1 P1
P1 K1
K1 P1
P1 K1
K1 P1
P1 K1
Knit
K
K
K
K
K
K
K
Moss Stitch K
P1, *K1 (repeat from * to end)
K
K1, *P1; K1 (repeat from * to end)
K
P1, *K1 (repeat from * to end)
K
K1, *P1; K1 (repeat from * to end)
Purl
P
P
P
P
P
P
P
Stockinette K
S P
S K
S P
S K
S P
S K
S P
Knit
K
K
K
K
K
K
K
Cast Off

20130723-050005.jpg

20130723-050039.jpg

 

